4 Helpful Books and Articles, and 1 Great Read

Sometimes you read a book or an article and it perfectly aligns with your state of mind. Or maybe it gave comfort where none other could. These are some resources that helped me immensely. They lit the way to finding forgiveness, learning to be happy, and giving me solace when I needed it. May they do the same for you.

I’ll share more books and articles with you in future postings.

1. A Thousand Words for Kindness, by Byron Katie

This is book changed me. It contains four simple questions that can undo painful memories and instantly change perceptions. Suffering comes from the stories we carry around [“I failed”, “I can’t do anything right”…etc.]. We learn these during childhood and they become so ingrained that we don’t even know they’re colouring our every interaction with the world. These questions nudge us to reconsider the validity of our stories.

The four questions:

* Is it true?

* Can you absolutely know that it’s true?

* How do you react when you believe that thought?

* Who would you be without the thought?

Sounds simple? They are, but massive changes can come from a slight perceptual shift. I urge you to give it a try. You’ll get the full benefit by reading the full instructions first.

2. 5 Steps to Finding True Joy and Removing Your Sorrows

This article eloquently describes the process of inquiry. I use this method to move through and let go of difficult emotions. With practice, this process of mindfulness can swing you into a place of acceptance and joy.

3. Women, Food and God, by Geneen Roth

Even though I don’t have weight issues, I read this book because it talks about the importance of uncovering the underlying causes for our problems. I recommend reading it even if you don’t have food issues. It’s an excellent place to start thinking about what’s unconsciously motivating your behaviour. I also recommend her newest book, “Lost and Found”, which focuses these ideas on money.

4. Expect A Miracle -7 Spiritual Steps to Finding the Right Relationship, by Kathy Freston

This book is a step by step how-to on manifesting a wondrous relationship. It breaks down the Law of Attraction idea into tangible actions. Many books on this subject can be theoretical, but this book is very practical. Even though it focuses on romantic relationships,  the ideas can easily translate into other areas, such as work, money or friendships.

5. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

This book doesn’t directly relate to spirituality. It’s here because I just reread it and fell deeper in love with the main characters. It’s a classic and a great summer read.

