How Monopoly Taught Me a Spiritual Lesson

Almost losing at Monopoly gave me an epiphany. My opponent had thousands of dollars in the bank. I was mortgaging everything but my socks, and I knew I was going to win. I owned more property and was building houses, and hotels. Eventually they would all pay off. Because of this, I enjoyed the entire game, even as my opponent was smugly prancing around the board, laughing every time he landed on one of my properties rent-free.  I remained confident because I knew it would turn around, and it did. I won.

This experience showed me that looking at the bigger picture is necessary to keep motivated toward your goals, and to enjoy the journey.  It’s inevitable for obstacles to show up on the road to a worthy goal, and it’s compelling to wander off into the minutiae of daily life. But if you know that everything you’re doing is a positive step forward, then regardless of what the moment looks like, it’ll be a happier ride.

I’ve been looking at life through a microscope these last few weeks, and though there were many wonderful moments, I was frustrated with the lack of positive changes in my life. All the effort I’d been putting into making myself and my life better didn’t seem to be producing results. It was starting to feel like a waste of time.

Yet, when I compare my life now to what it was a year ago, I see tremendous change. I no longer torture myself with replaying old hurts over and over again. Letting go of grudges is becoming instantaneous. Joy visits more often. These are remarkable changes that happened all through hard work. Though, they’re easy to miss when I only look at my life through the prism of moments.

Like a painter at her canvas, every detail is necessary, but you need to stand back occasionally to make sure everything is as you want, and to savour the moment along the way to your masterpiece.

 

5 thoughts on “How Monopoly Taught Me a Spiritual Lesson

  1. I agree with your sentiments here. I read recently that people tend to overestimate what they can achieve in a single day but underestimate what they can achieve in a single year. By focusing on the details we can feel disappointed that we are not progressing as fast as we want to when, in reality, we are probably doing just fine (in the bigger picture). Thanks for sharing your epiphany, it is always important to be reminded of this 🙂

    1. You’re welcome, Cassandra.

      Thanks for sharing the thought that “people tend to overestimate what they can achieve in a single day but underestimate what they can achieve in a single year”. I’ve been thinking about this and I often do expect things to turn around instantly and get disappointed when they don’t. But when I compare who I am now to who I was last year, the progress is satisfying.

      I hope you’re finding the same satisfaction with your own life. .

      1. I am one of the world’s most impatient people so perhaps this is a life-long lesson for me but, yes, I am starting to see the satisfaction in the long view. 🙂

Comments are closed.