And then, and then

When I was younger I thought I’d have everything figured out by now. All the missing pieces would be found and placed into their rightful places; the picture would be complete. I would be complete.

I never considered that I might still be working on the landscape now, still filling in the gaps.

This morning I asked myself, “What was the purpose of it all?” The answer that came back was, “Trees don’t ask why they’re here. They just are and the world is better for it. Even if they don’t grow into impressive oak trees, they’re still meaningful–just like us.”

I suspect most people are still filling in the gaps, and this gives me solace. I’m not alone.

Leave a Reply

