Some of my favourite things – TV shows

Lately, I’ve been spending a lot of time in front of my laptop watching TV shows, specifically binge watching. I don’t have a TV and haven’t had one for many, many years–I never got around to buying one when I moved out and then​ I didn’t miss it enough to get one later.

The downside of this is that I missed some fantastic shows, which I’m gleefully catching up on now.

“Endeavour” is my new favourite. It’s the prequel to the British series, “Inspector Morse”. It follows Endeavour Morse’s beginnings in the police force as he moves up the ranks. It’s a very slow paced show, at least much slower than the ADHD inducing American shows I grew up with. And the main character is, well, rather morose, a loner and somewhat bland. Despite all of this, I’m riveted. Each episode follows Morse and his mentor–played by one of my favorites, Roger Allam–solving a murder mystery. Some of the episodes are creepy and scary in the old-schooled way where you don’t really see anything, instead you get to imagine it (thank you, BBC!).

A co-worker​ turned me onto “Veep” a couple of years ago and I’ve been devoted to it ever since. All the characters are kind of horrible in a fantastic way. It’s one of the few shows that actually makes me laugh.

And I keep wondering what Frank Underwood’s character in “House of Cards” will be like now that Trump’s president. All the previous seasons of the show preceded Trump, making everything Frank did scandalous, but now all of it seems beige in comparison.

Some other shows I love are: “The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” (bizarrely brilliant​); “Jane the Virgin” (self-aware soap opera, fun); and “Orphan Black” (Tatiana Maslany is the best actor anywhere and it’s set in Toronto!).

Leave a Reply

